Elangeni Ekapa

I could feel my heart beating out of my chest as I stepped onto the bus Thursday morning. After weeks of touring organizations and repeatedly asking myself the same question… “can I see myself here?” I finally chose the sight where I will be doing my service learning project and developing my capstone. I am doing my service at a non-profit organization called New Chapter. Three days a week I go to the community center and volunteer for the organization. On Mondays and Wednesdays I assist with the afterschool program, and on Tuesdays I help out in the office. The community center is located in Phumlani (pronounced pume-lan-ni), which is one of the poorest townships in Cape Town. The office site is located in Steemburg, which is next to Lavendale. Lavendale is also a very poor and rural area that is known for having a huge gang problem. It’s very easy…

View original post 479 more words

Leave a Reply

