QuietPoet Blog

Oh ,the agony of being a South African.

 

Today I walked into a beautiful decorating shop in the trendy Nimmanhaemin road in Chiang Mai.

 

After walking around looking at the beautiful objects in the shop, as I left, the young man raised his hands infront of him in a prayerlike blessing. I did the same and left.

 

I thought about this moment. It’s gentleness, its simplicity. I also thought of the conviction of the young man who chose to dignify that moment with his blessing.

It was quietly special.

 

We carried on walking and decided we were hungry. We found a little restaurant and ordered some delicious Korean food.

 

The conversation I had with my two sons and my wife veered towards comparing this peaceful country with our own beloved South Africa, with all its problems.

 

My older son commented that the peace had…

View original post 181 more words

Leave a Reply

